What Is Veganism, and What Do Vegans Eat?
Veganism is becoming increasingly popular.
In the past few years, several celebrities have gone vegan, and a wealth of vegan products have appeared in stores.
However, you may still be curious about what this eating pattern involves — and what you can and can’t eat on a vegan diet.
This article tells you everything you need to know about veganism.
What is veganism?
The term “vegan” was coined in 1944 by a small group of vegetarians who broke away from the Leicester Vegetarian Society in England to form the Vegan Society.
They chose not to consume dairy, eggs, or any other products of animal origin, in addition to refraining from meat, as do vegetarians.
The term “vegan” was chosen by combining the first and last letters of “vegetarian.”
Veganism is currently defined as a way of living that attempts to exclude all forms of animal exploitation and cruelty, be it from food, clothing, or any other purpose.
Foods that vegans avoid
Vegans avoid all foods of animal origin. These include:
Moreover, vegans avoid any animal-derived ingredients, such as albumin, casein, carmine, gelatin, pepsin, shellac, isinglass, and whey.
Foods containing these ingredients include some types of beer and wine, marshmallows, breakfast cereals, gummy candies, and chewing gum.